[Read Story] A father`s pain (Episode 9 & 10)

EPISODE 9

I woke up very early the next morning, well determined to go to any length to take my children back from my wife. I swore that nothing was going to stop me from having them back.

After I had my bath, I skipped breakfast and got ready to go see my lawyer. I was driving out of my compound when a car drove up and pulled up beside mine. A young fellow got out and came up to me.

“Good morning sir”
“Good morning”
“Are you Mr. Ofori-Mensah?”
“Yes” I replied
“I have this for you,” the young man said, handing me a document. I recognized it immediately as a court summons. Immediately, I knew where it was coming from.
“So, Nora thinks she can get the courts to compel me to give her money, eh? We shall see”, I said as I opened the document. The young man, having already made me sign for the receipt of the document got back into his car and drove away while I read through the court summon.

“Jesus Christ!” I found myself exclaiming. My estranged wife, Nora, was not out to compel the court to make me give her money. She was praying the court to subject our children to a DNA test which she said would prove I am not the biological father of the children.

I could hear my heart beating violently in my chest. I knew I had to calm down. I took some deep breaths and then reclined the seat of my back so I lay somewhat supine in it. Then I began to analyze the matter. Within seconds, I came to the conclusion that the DNA test my wife wants conducted was in my interest. It would establish beyond every reasonable doubt that I was the biological father of my two children.

Quickly, I phoned my lawyer and told him about the court summons. He said he will come over to the hospital during his lunch break to take the summons. With that agreed, I headed for the hospital, my workplace.

I suddenly was in high spirits as I drove towards the hospital because I was more than confident the DNA test was my best chance to have my children back. Once the test proves they were my biological children, the courts will order my wife to return them to me.Even without the DNA, anyone who looks at them will see some resemblance to me though admittedly, they resembled their mother more.
In the afternoon, Carl Lomotey, my lawyer turned up and together, we poured over the court summons and my wife’s demand. Carl said sooner than later, the saga will come to an end.

“I can tell that Nora is so confused; she does not know what she is doing,” he said. I nodded confidently. Then he left to begin preparing my defense.

We were in court two weeks after I received the suits against me. I arrived in court that day with Carl Lomotey to find that Nora was already present. I took to the dock to the left of the judge while Nora stood in the one on the right. His brother, Nana Kweku, was present in court. So also were one of his sisters, two aunts and an uncle. Her lawyer, Prof. Solomon Laryea was also present. She, however, did not bring the children to the court. Somehow, she looked very confident, and honestly, very beautiful.She also had a defiant look about her. However, neither her beauty nor her defiant expression had any effect on me. All I wanted was to have my children, Peter and Pamela, back.

“Court rise!” a court clerk suddenly intoned. Everyone in the court room got up. A very slim man led the judge in to the court room. The court clerks and the lawyers in the court all bowed their heads to him before he took his seat. Then everybody sat down.

…………..to be continued…………
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
EPISODE 10

Thankfully, our case was the first to be called. My lawyer and Nora’s got up to introduced themselves as our respective counsels. Then I was asked to go stand in the dock to the left of the judge while my wife stood in that to his right. We both swore by the bible to speak the truth, the whole truth, nothing but the truth. Then another clerk at the court read out why I had been summoned to the court. When he was done, the judge took over.

He went straight to the point and said my estrange wife was claiming that I was not the biological father of our two children; she wanted a DNA test carried out to prove her claim. Then the judged asked if I had any objection.

“No, my Lord” I said calmly. The judge nodded before announcing that the DNA test will be done at the Central Government Hospital. He directed that it be carried out within 48 hours after the court’s order. The Registrar at the court was appointed to be the independent observer who will be present at the hospital when our respective DNAs are being taken. Having spelt out what he wanted done, the judge then asked if there was any objection. Both parties said they were okay with the arrangement. With that, the case was adjourned.

As soon as we walked out of the court room, my estranged wife, followed by his brother and two other men walked to her vehicle, got in and drove away. She had evidently come to the court with bodyguards to prevent me from attacking her. I smiled to myself. I had no intentions of attacking her, especially as we were in court though I knew that not even these tough looking sunglasses-wearing men were capable of coming between me and my children.

I got into my car and drove to the Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) club house with my lawyer in tow. There, we had a brunch. I tool Milo and brown bread with baked beans while he took a bottle of lemonade and chicken.

“Nora is very interesting. I am surprised at her. It is as if I have never known her” my lawyer, Carl Lomotey, said. I was not in the mood to talk about my wife. Talking about her only brought back painful memories of seeing her in bed with my friend. All I wanted now was to get my children back. I changed the topic. Carl realized this and understood I did not want to discuss Nora.

After the brunch, we parted ways. I headed for the hospital while he headed for his chambers.

Back at my work place, I immediately began to attend to patients. I worked hard as though it was going to be my last day at the hospital. Burying myself in my work enabled me to forget the pain of my wife’s infidelity. Finally, when it was almost five O’clock, I saw off the last patient. My work schedule for the day too had come to an end. I was about to leave my consulting room when my phone rung. The number that appeared on my screen was that of my wife. I wondered why she was phoning me. I decided not to pick the call. The ringing continued till it ended. Then after about three seconds, it started ringing again.

I still refused to answer the call. However, when it began ringing the fifth time, I picked it; I was going to tell her off, warning her never to call me. But as soon as I answered the call, I heard my son’s voice.

“Daddy! Daddy! Is that you?” Peter asked. The sound of his voice brought back nostalgic feelings of the good old days when we were a one big happy family.
“Peter! Yes! It’s me! How are you! How is Pamela? Where are you?” I asked, my heart aching and yearning for them.

“Pamela is here. Daddy, we miss you. When are you coming for us? We miss you. We want to…”Suddenly, I heard their mother’s voice interrupting.

“Peter! Who asked you to use my phone? Who are you calling? Let me see,” I heard her say.

“I was talking to Daddy,” I heard my son reply. Then I heard my wife say “that man is not your daddy…” then the line went dead.

I could not believe it! My wife was telling my son that I was not his father. Immediately, my entire being was gripped with anger. Quickly, I phoned my wife back.

…………..to be continued…………

Leave a Reply

